Eloise and I

Recently I had the opportunity to enjoy the adventures of Eloise when dressing up as her character for a Book’em fundraising event.  It was so much fun to walk around and chat with folks my age (of course I’m not telling!) about the children’s books series.  I was astonished how many still have vivid memories of Eloise.  A few folks had some fun stories to share about reading the book to their children.

 

I first learned of Eloise and the hotel and world where she lives when I was a little girl.  Living far away from the city and the Plaza, I could travel with Eloise and sometimes employ her mischievous tactics for my own adventure far, far away from the big city.  As a child I got to attend the weddings that Eloise attended – invited or not.  I got to spy on debutantes as they danced in the Terrace Room of the grand Plaza, and endlessly roam with her in search of adventure.  Even now I use some of those same Eloise-like tactics when I travel just to experience another culture and to have a little fun. 

 

I cannot imagine my childhood without books like Eloise and many others.  I could travel and learn even though I grew up rarely having the resources to travel very far. 

 

Book ‘em does something as direct as giving a book like Eloise to a child for her to keep.  She can visit Eloise’s world anytime she wants, and perhaps create her own adventure whenever she wants.  I can do more than hope that a child in Davidson County gets a book like Eloise – I can actually help by helping Book ‘em.  (I hope you will too.)

By Brenda Gadd, Frost Brown Todd LLC and member of Book’em Board of Directors 

Leave a comment